Why my Dad is awesome.

Hey People,

With Father’s day having just passed, I spent hours upon hours building and configuring a new machine with a multi-monitor setup for my dad’s new business, Environmental Pest Control. It was a father’s day present from me. However, due to my own stupidity, I forgot to get him a card so I now feel like a complete douchebag… and I am. The guilt got me thinking of how much my Dad does for me and so I present “Why my Dad is awesome.”

1) He’s a police officer.

Now that is pretty badass in itself. I’ve always looked up to him for this. When I was at school, I was always bragging about how my dad was a policeman who arrested all the bad guys and put them away for a long time. I always used to gaze in amazement when he pulled up in a big police car because he forgot to take his sandwiches to work. I remember bawling my eyes out when he had to go to Newcastle to partake in a diving search and rescue course for the now disbanded West Midlands Police Divers. He is now a member of the West Midlands Police Biker unit so he gets to ride an awesome bike round all day whilst arresting the bad guys. Pity about the amount of paperwork though.

2) He can fix almost anything.

Now I am sure a lot of dads can do this. Broken bunk-bed? Fixed. Broken computer due to my own stupidity? Fixed. My first Moped not getting above 25MPH? Fixed. You name it and chances are my dad can fix it. He’s fixed leaky roofs, broken windows (Due to me being a crap goalie) and even fixed my motorbike when it crapped out on me leaving me stranded in Mile Oak on a painfully hot day with no water or food or cash.

3) He always gives good advice.

I remember six year old me trying to rack my brains on how to deal with the school bully. Should I pick up that big rock that’s always in the corner next to the dinner hall and bash his head in? Should I convince his friends that he didn’t really like them? I was bullied a lot in school. I was the perfect target. A weedy little nerdy kid with a hatred of fights and violence.  He knew something was up and he sat me down and gave me some of the best advice ever. “Ignore them. These kind of people feed on attention. Without it, they wither and die.” I still use this advice to this day. We then sat down and he introduced me to star wars. Which brings me to my next point.

4) He introduced me to Star Wars.

Now we’re not talking  about the new ones either. We’re talking the glorious original trilogy with it’s awesome space battles and lightsaber duels. Those plot twists with the evil Darth Vader turning out to be Luke Skywalker’s father and Princess Leia his sister. He sat through all three films with me, making sure to explain whenever I lost track of what is going on. Some of the best memories I have.

5) He never gave up on me. Even when I gave up on myself.

School was tough for me. Some days I would come home, go to my room and sit miserably at my computer desk. I would mope around for hours thinking of not going back there. He would always set me on the right track again. Even if it did mean raising his voice. I resented him for it at the time but I realised that he was right all along and that I was a stupid child. I’ve done some stupid things. Really stupid things. No matter how much I fucked up, he was always there to bail me out. The best part about this is that he still is here to bail me out.

So I am not good at showing my emotion because I don’t really like spilling it out but Dad, If you’re reading this, I may seem a bit distant at times and maybe even seem like a douchebag, but I appriciate all the stuff you do for me. Even the little things. I guess what I am trying to get across here is that “I love you”. Thanks for being here for me.

So there we have it. I officially have the best dad in the world. Fuck you to all who say otherwise.

523348_3964655789222_2122383224_n

Until next time…

2 responses to “Why my Dad is awesome.

  1. oh Sam you have made me cry,yes you have got an awesome Dad but he also has an awesome Son Love you xxx

Leave a Reply

