Day Five: Hamnavoe

I sit here at the end of a long day. I am currently in the Port of Kirkwall in the Northlink Ferries Terminal. It is cold outside. Very cold. However, the nice people at Northlink have let me go right down to this terminal without having to wait like all the car drivers back up on the land.

It’s been a good day though. After enjoying a lovely breakfast provided at the Greenland Guest House, I set off for the Port of Scrabster, just outside of Lozells Kingstanding Thurso. For those who are unfamiliar, Scrabster is at the very end of the A9, which runs through Aberdeen, Wick and Thurso. Scrabster is pretty nice actually. Anyway, the ship that took me over to the Orkney Islands was named the MV Hamnavoe. The route took us north from Scrabster, around the Orkneys and past the Old Man of Hoy. The Old Man of Hoy is a stack on a cliffside.

For those who didn’t know, The formation process of a stack. usually begins when the sea attacks small cracks in a headland and opens them. The cracks then gradually get larger and turn into a small cave. When the cave wears through the headland, an arch forms. Further erosion causes the arch to collapse, leaving the pillar of hard rock standing away from the coast – the stack. Eventually, erosion will cause the stack to collapse, leaving a stump. This stump usually forms a small rock island, low enough for a high tide to submerge. (I couldn’t be bothered to type this. I stole it from Wikipedia. So sue me…)

Anyway, As the Hamnavoe approached the town of Stromness, I couldn’t help but stare in awe at this seemingly small town. It was beautiful.

 (Yes, It’s blurry. I was on a ship that was rocking back and forth plus it’s a phone camera.)

The Orkney Islands are amazing. The roads seem to go on forever, yet they end rather abruptly at the strangest of places. A Roads will suddenly dissolve into nothing more than a dirt track.

 The Standing Stones of Stenness are just behind me.

I am waiting for the MV Hrossey to dock here, then it’s an overnight journey in rough seas. Maybe I will see the Aurora Borealis.

One can hope, anyway.

Leave a Reply

