Day Two: Through the Valleys

Hello again.

 I am currently sitting in a McDonalds in Fort William. You’re probably thinking “A McDonalds? What the hell man?”. It has WiFi, Okay

Anyway, I awoke to the sound of a rooster cawing at about 0700. I had the most peaceful nights sleep in a long time. I checked for the latest news and surfed Reddit on my mobile phone but my signal quickly deteriorated. I forced myself to get out of bed…

For breakfast, I fixed myself some porridge oats. I think I overcooked them in the microwave though because they came out looking like a giant flapjack piece. After I had packed everything up, I realised that I had not taken a backup of the HD Camera mounted on the front of the bike. I had to take my seat off and retrieve the unit. Doesn’t sound bad, right? It was raining. It kept raining. It’s been raining all day and I am pretty sure I can see rain in the distance.

On the first leg of today, I was riding on the outskirts of Edinburgh. It was full of idiot drivers who seemed to want to brake suddenly despite the fact that there was nothing to brake for. The forth road bridge towered over the hills in the distance. However, that was not my destination. “I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it…” I thought. I then laughed at myself (In my head, not out loud. That would be weird.)

The road was dull and boring until after I hit the town of Stirling. A good friend of mine (Nicky D) had recommended that I go to the area and I have to say that I was not disappointed. It was beautiful. There was small mountains surrounding the road I was on, each one of them with buildings and castles.

I rode on, through the valleys and I gotta admit, I really wouldn’t mind living up here. It is isolated enough for the peace, yet close enough to civilisation so that people are there if you need them.
It was raining the entire trip round, In fact, I have only just seen my first patch of blue sky as I approached Fort William.

After stopping for a hot chocolate at the lovely Green Welly Stop, I climbed the road up to the moors and was met by one of the greatest views I have ever seen. Mountains loomed over the moor, as if protecting it from some unseen enemy and small lochs littered the flat land in the middle of the valley. I would have taken a photo, However, the road was rather busy and I didn’t want to cause any accidents.  After admiring the view for a few precious moments, I rounded a corner and was met by a huge mountain. I could see the road ahead, like a small river snaking its way through the valley below. This was the Glen Coe.

As I descended into the hills, I couldn’t help but think that all the rain, all the idiots and all the traffic lights I had put up with were worth it. This was riding. This was living and I wasn’t going to let anyone stand in my way. As I reached the bottom of the glen, A huge silver loch was waiting. The road followed the loch round through a small village called Ballachulish. I then rounded another corner onto the final stretch towards Fort William. There, in the corner of my eye, I saw it. The thing I had been waiting for all day. A single lone patch of blue sky, surrounded by dark clouds. A single beacon of the sunlight that lay above this thick layer of cloud.

Pulling through Fort William, I noticed the familiar glowing sign of the local McDonalds. As this is the only place I know that has free WiFi, I have decided to pull up here for now. I can’t check into the Youth Hostel yet, So I suppose I’d better pop over the road to Morrisons and get some food for tonight.

I will post some photos when I get a chance. Until then,
Bye.

One response to “Day Two: Through the Valleys

Leave a Reply

